Yueyang Tower stands at the head of the ancient west gate of Yueyang City. Its predecessor was the military parade building of Lu Su, a general of the Eastern Wu Dynasty during the Three Kingdoms Period. It has a history of nearly 1800 years. It is known as the three famous buildings in the south of the Yangtze River together with the Yellow Crane Tower in Wuhan, Hubei Province and Tengwang Pavilion in Changsha, Jiangxi Province. It is a treasure of ancient Chinese architecture, and has been known as "Dongting Tianshui, Yueyang Tianlou" since ancient times.
Yueyang Tower is 19.42 meters high, rectangular in plane, 17.24 meters wide and 14.54 meters deep, covering an area of 250.66 square meters. The main building is a pure wood structure, which combines beam-lifting and bucket-piercing structures constructed by mortise and tenon method. The whole building is supported by four golden pillars, 12 corridors and 20 eaves. The roof is a unique large-scale helmet-roof building in China. The three-storey eaves are flying upwards. The dome arches are superimposed beautifully. The ridge relief is lifelike. The second floor corridor is surrounded by a delicate and unique corridor. The whole building is well structured, exquisitely crafted and solemn in shape.
Yueyang Tower rose in Tang Dynasty and flourished in Song Dynasty. It has undergone the evolution from military building to city gate building to ornamental building. Before the Tang Dynasty, its function mainly acted on military affairs. Since the Tang Dynasty, it has gradually become a scenic spot for tourists and elegant scholars of all dynasties to visit and recite poems and fu. Yueyang Tower is famous all over the world after Tengzijing rebuilt Yueyang Tower in the Northern Song Dynasty and Fan Zhongyan wrote The Narrative of Yueyang Tower. Its full text is more than 360 words.